Religious Tourism FAQ

Uttarakhand is called the Devbhoomi (Land of the gods) of India. There are numerous religious sites and destinations in Uttarakhand where devotees come all year round to offer their prayers. There are, however, a few guidelines to keep in mind before you plan a trip.


Q) How do I reach Kedarnath?

Kedarnath is one of the revered Char Dhams (four holy sites). To visit this temple dedicated to Lord Shiva, you must first reach Haridwar from where you can avail one of the many modes of transport to reach Gauri Kund, which is the starting point of the trek to Kedarnath. You can also book Yatra buses approved by GMVN for the Char Dham yatra. Helicopter services are also available for the ease of devotees.


Q) How do I reach Badrinath?

The abode of Lord Vishnu, Badrinath is one of the revered Char Dhams. Buses to Badrinath are available from Haridwar and Rishikesh.


Q) How do I reach Yamunotri?

The source of River Yamuna and the abode of Goddess Yamuna, Yamunotri is the first stop in the Char Dham yatra. To reach Yamunotri, you can avail a bus or hire a cab from either Dehradun or Haridwar to reach Janki Chatti. From there, you have to trek about 5-6 km to reach Yamunotri. You can, alternately, also avail ponies or palanquins to cover the distance.


Q) How do I reach Gangotri?

Gangotri is connected by well-maintained motorable roads. You can book a taxi from Haridwar to reach Gangotri.


Q) How many days are required for Char Dham yatra?

If you start the tour from Haridwar or Rishikesh, then you can visit all the four sites in 10 days. There are buses organised by GMVN & other private operators.


Q) How to book a package for a religious tour?

These packages are available on or any offices situated in various cities.